From Freetown to Newcastle…

the-making-of-the-enterprise-shedHello, my name is Rebecca and I started as an entrepreneurial development officer 2 months ago and so far it’s been a blast! I’ve really enjoyed meeting lots of new and existing students with bags of enthusiasm and exciting ideas.

Rebecca 1

One of my main responsibilities is to work alongside staff and students of Newcastle University Business School to offer curricular and extra-curricular entrepreneurial activity, equip students with enterprising skills, and support students looking to start up their own businesses. I am also working on the development of Newcastle University’s first Entrepreneurship MOOC (Massive Open Online Course) which will provide unlimited participation and open access to the course via the web, so you can unlock the entrepreneur inside no matter who you are or where you are in the world. The MOOC will launch in 2015, so watch this space.

So, a little bit about me….

I graduated from Newcastle University in 2011 with an MA in Cross-Cultural Communication and International Relations. During my time at uni I worked as a Rise Up intern and worked on international projects in Ghana with a volunteering organisation. For the past 2 years I have worked with entrepreneurs building chains of schools to improve education in their communities in Ghana and Sierra Leone. I am continuing my work in West Africa through my PhD, in which I am studying youth entrepreneurship and the impact of context.

Rebecca 2

What gets me out of bed in the morning? My aim to support people to see what they are capable of. I believe whenever an individual creates a solution to any problem they are being an entrepreneur, they sometimes just can’t see it themselves. New ideas and solutions can change the world so it is important that everyone realises, and frees, their inner entrepreneur.

If you already have an idea or fancy having a crack at unleashing your inner entrepreneur please email me to arrange a chat.

Until next time.

Rebecca Fisher

Entrepreneurial Development Officer

Leave a Reply

